The line-up

Special Events

The seven features in competition at the 36th Venice International Film Critics’ Week are eligible for the Grand Prize Venice International Film Critics’ Week, awarded by a jury to the best film in selection. The jury members are Claudio Cupellini, Vanja Kaludjercic and Sandrine Marques.

Furthermore, the films in competition are eligible for the following prizes: Verona Film Club Award, bestowed by a jury composed of the under-35 members of the Verona Film Club and awarded to the most innovative film in the section; Mario Serandrei – Hotel Saturnia Award for Best Technical Contribution, sponsored by the Hotel Saturnia in Venice and conferred by a committee of experts.

The seven films in competition at the Venice Critics’ Week, as all the debut feature films presented in the various competitive sections of the Venice Film Festival (Official Selection and Independent and Parallel Sections) are eligible for the Lion of the Future – “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film. An International Jury will award a prize of 100,000 US dollars, donated by Filmauro, to be divided equally between the director and the producer.

The seven short films competing at SIC@SIC, a program made possible thanks to the synergy between the National Union of Italian Film Critics (SNCCI) and Istituto Luce-Cinecittà, are eligible for the following prizes, to be given by a jury composed of three film professionals, Jacopo Chessa, Silvia Luzi and Nadia Trevisan:

Best Short Film Award, sponsored by Frame by Frame and consisting of post-production services for the next short film by the winning director; Best Director Award, sponsored by Stadion Video and consisting of the English subtitling for the next short film by the winning director; Best Technical Contribution Award, sponsored by Fondazione Fare Cinema and consisting of an invitation to the 2022 edition of the Advanced Training Course in Film Directing “Fare Cinema”.

The selection is curated by the General Delegate Beatrice Fiorentino with the members of the selection committee Enrico Azzano, Paola Casella, Simone Emiliani and Roberto Manassero.

Download the press release: Click here.